Salvation Mountain

I’m lucky to have traveled a lot around the USA. In 2010 my Dad and I went on a road trip up and down the Pacific Coast. Despite putting on lots of weight, it was a special journey.

In California, just outside Slab City, we visited Salvation Mountain, where Alexander Supertramp is supposed to have visited on his ill-fated journey into the wild. There I met Leonard Knight who has been living out the back of his truck and building this amazing monument to God and Love for the past 40 years. It’s constructed mainly from tires and straw and other bits Leonard salvaged from the desert.

Leonard Knight by Greg Ash

Leonard was over 80 years old when I met him but still such a spirited individual. A man who has made it his life work to spread a positive message to all who passed by his mountain. God is Love. Here’s a photo of the two of us sitting in the back of his truck.

Leonard and Me

The guy’s 55 years older than me, but could probably beat me in a thumb war. I found out recently that he’d been admitted to a care faciltiy for dementia, which is very sad. But a reminder that we all have a limited time on this earth, so we may as well make the most of it.

I feel lucky to have been able to do a trip like this with my Dad, so I made this video for him and you to enjoy.

If you have a chance to visit Salvation Mountain, I urge you to pass by. And as Leonard would say “Keep It Simple”.

Leave a Reply

