Infatuation – A Bromantic Comedy

As it’s Valentines Day, I thought I’d dig out one of my old short films and put it up on the internet so it can be savaged by the critics. It’s something I made back in 2008 with my good friend Thomas Mauritsen.

We shot it in the middle of what I describe as my “hopeless romantic” period (as opposed to my current “hopeless” period). Both Thomas and I were/are big fans of Richard Linklater, Woody Allen, and the movie ‘Swingers’ and you can definitely see that in the laid back, conversational style of the film. Simple camera set ups and (hopefully) ‘real’ conversations. It’s quite a liberating way of filmmaking and I hope I can do more of it in the future.

I used to be a little unsure about sharing my old shorts, as they obviously don’t have high production values or good sound and all the things we’re supposed to cherish. But these days I think “what the hell maybe someone will enjoy them”. In fact, my cousin says he prefers my early work. So maybe you will too…

Leave a Reply

