We Like Laughter – 3 New Sketches

Cast & Crew of 'Special Delivery' - A New Sketch by We Like Laughter

Cast & Crew of ‘Special Delivery’ – A new sketch by We Like Laughter

I’ve just finished filming the 3rd of 3 new comedy sketches for We Like Laughter, the online comedy project that we funded at the end of last year through Kickstarter!

I’ve been in LA for the past month or so and was inspired by the people I was meeting out here to write 3 comedy scripts and get them filmed before I headed back to England. There’s something about the energy of this city and the people I’m introduced to that gets me excited to make things. 3 projects in 10 days was certainly ambitious but knowing that I was heading back to the UK early August was a good motivator to get them done. Here’s the lowdown:

1/ The first sketch is called ‘Doggy Style’ and is directed by my friend Ryan Turner who you may remember directed the music video ‘I’m Not Gay’ last year that did very well online. ‘Doggy Style’ stars me and Corrin Evans, and was shot by Leigh Underwood who filmed Scott’s Lookalikes. Ryan is editing it together now and I hope the results are going to be very funny. I don’t want to give too much away right now as to what the title might mean but I’ll leave it to your imagination. It’s grosser than you think!

2/ The second shoot was actually a more of a short film. It’s called ‘Special Delivery’ and stars my friend Sasha Feldman (Franco in Scott’s Lookalikes), Tony Revolori (The Grand Budapest Hotel) and Arielle Kebbel (The Vampire Diaries and lots of major films). The short was inspired by my friend Sasha’s exploits as an actual Pizza Delivery guy and an idea we had when I suggested I go on a ride along with him.

Sasha and Tony as Mickey and Ramiro in 'Special Delivery'

Sasha and Tony as Mickey and Ramiro in ‘Special Delivery’

It was awesome to work with such a talented cast and I’m excited to edit it together. I’d like to maybe premiere it at a film festival as well as releasing it online so we’ll see how things progress.

3/ Then on Sunday we just shot ‘Hollywood Superstar’. In that one play an arrogant, British wannabe actor (which obviously wasn’t much of a stretch) who meets Lindsey Shaw (Pretty Little Liars) in a Coffee Shop and tries to impress her with the help of his bumbling Spanish assistant Javier played by friend Javier Aguayo (original character naming by me). We also have an appearance by Mario Revolori, Tony’s equally talented brother, proving that We Like Laughter is just one big incestuous family. The plot is equal parts awkward and ridiculous. I hope people will like my  character, even if he is a bit of a bastard.

More news soon. Laughter awaits. Thanks to all the backers who made them possible and don’t forget to keep up to date with all things We Like Laughter by liking/following us. Why Not Click Here Now -> Facebook and Twitter.

Here’s a photo of Lindsey Shaw and a fan from the ‘Hollywood Superstar’ shoot. I look sweaty and tired. She looks good. I made her wear the beret though so she’s now a member of We Like Laughter whether she likes it or not!

Lindsey Shaw and I on the set of 'Hollywood Superstar'

Lindsey Shaw and I on the set of ‘Hollywood Superstar’

 

Leave a Reply

