Scott’s Lookalikes Wins A Development Deal at NYTVF

"I'd like to thank my stylist who couldn't make it tonight as he's on tour with Mr. Bean."

“I’d like to thank my stylist who couldn’t make it tonight as he’s on tour with Mr. Bean.”

I got some incredible news on Saturday night. We were showcasing the pilot for our comedy Scott’s Lookalikes at the New York TV Festival last week. It’s a great festival where independent producers get to show their work to lots of the top TV networks. You may remember I’ve been there a couple of times before. Two years ago we pitched live on stage for $300,000. We didn’t win which might explain why I still have the same slightly ill-fitting tweed jacket two years on.

But this year we had a bit more luck.

After a week of screenings and meetings and lots of free Stella, the awards ceremony came around on Saturday night. The festival is unique in that TV networks are there offering development deals on the spot to their favourite projects. The very first one was offered by TruTV who I had met a bit earlier in the week. I had a good feeling about the meeting. They’re a fun network who are pushing to do more scripted comedy. They seemed to like the show and my ideas and I liked them. My heart was racing as they read out the name on the card.

“And the winner of the TruTV development deal is Greg Ash and Scott’s Lookalikes!”

I bounded up on stage and, dazed and confused, I bumbled a few words into the microphone. If that’s a dress rehearsal for the Oscars I’ve got no chance. I returned to my seat to high five the Scott’s Lookalikes team who were there with me. It was a surreal feeling. Development deals are generally hashed out in offices behind closed doors but here we were receiving one in front of hundreds of people.

The exact details are to be confirmed but basically it means we’ll be working with TruTV to turn Scott’s Lookalikes into a TV show that hopefully will be on screens. It hasn’t quite sunk in yet, but I’m very excited about it all. I may even buy a new jacket.

A big thank you to the friends and fans of the show and to all the people who helped us make our pilot, and to the NYTVF staff who made it such a memorable week. More news soon. Read the full list of winners via the Hollywood Reporter: http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/new-york-television-festival-announces-383726.

Leave a Reply

